Wage and Hour Violations
California has some of the most strict wage and hour laws in the nation, and they even exceed federal standards. Employers must abide by California’s minimum wage, overtime, and break time laws regardless of the employee’s immigration status or citizenship. The statute of limitations for wage claims in California is generally 3 years. If you were not paid appropriate wages (minimum wage, overtime, breaks, etc.), you have up to 3 years to file a lawsuit and get the compensation that you deserve under the law. It can be hard to face your employer alone and get the unpaid wages that you deserve. However, based on retaliation protections, employers may not fire or take adverse actions against an employee for exercising any right the California Labor Code provides, such as complaining about overtime violations. Call the firm at (213) 316-8844 so you can have support and a strong advocate in dealing with your employer.